New Year Countdown

christmas-2008-part-2-062Welcome to the fourth day in Cathy’s New Year Countdown. It’s the Monday after Christmas. The stockings are down, the presents are done and the tree looks sort of lonely sitting there all by itself. Post-Christmas blues, anyone? Here’s a trick to pick yourself up out of your holiday funk. Gather together all the January magazine issues you didn’t have time to read before Christmas, brew some good coffee or pour your favorite wine and enjoy some good old-fashioned escapism. You deserve it, and I promise you’ll have a whole new attitude when you’re done. For instance, right now Vogue wants to show me how to dress cheap and chic and Instyle has tips on making the most of what I have (but how do they know what I have?) and dressing slim. Lucky offers 564 ways to step up my style. Southern Living has the coziest comfort food and easy ideas to relax my rooms. And I can “feel calmer now” with Real Simple’s 20 essential organizing lists (although the thought of 20 lists is not calming at all, seems to me) and learn must-try recipes from Hawaii’s star chef with Coastal Living. See, don’t you feel better already? Now, if somebody would just actually do all those things for me, 2009 would be practically perfect. Anyway, check back tomorrow for the fifth day of Cathy’s New Year Countdown.

6 thoughts on “New Year Countdown

  1. I love escaping in my magazines… but into MacWorld and Entertainment Weekly or Bon Apetit and Cook’s Illustrated. I wish had time to do it more often!

  2. Hi Cathy, thanks so much for visiting my blog, and for such kind words. I actually am enjoying a day of sunshine and post-holidays EUPHORIA.
    Cheers!
    Ann

  3. Thanks for stopping by Suburbia and leaving comments. I’m just now catching up on all my blog reading, having been out-of-town after Christmas. Magazines are definitely next!

Leave a Reply

